Old Town, Orono players earn All-State field hockey honors

Three Old Town High School players and one Orono High School player have been named to the 2019 All-State field hockey teams, announced on Nov. 19 by the Maine Field Hockey Association.

Three other Old Town players and two from Orono were named to the All-Academic teams. 

The All-State selections will be recognized at the annual awards banquet at 1 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 8 at the Augusta Civic Center. Players recognized for Academic All-State will be recognized with a certificate (not at the banquet).

The criteria for All-State: 1. Performs consistently at a high skill level 2. Possesses leadership on and off the field 3. Exhibits excellent sportsmanship 4. Is dedicated to the game of field hockey.

Each Varsity coach is able to nominate up to three players from his/her own team for this award. The nominees are then voted on by all Varsity coaches in the state. Each coach may vote for up to 11 players, not including their own. 

Named to the Class B All-State team from Old Town are Madelyn Arsenault, Teaghan Blackie, and Jemyni True.

Orono High’s Krista Bass was named to the Class C All-State team.

Earning All-Academic honors are Old Town’s Sydney Sheehan, Brooke Sossong, and Abigail McKinley.

Orono’s Bass and Katherine Buetens earned All-Academic recognition.


Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.