The Penobscot Times

Orono municipal elections to be held March 9

ORONO, Maine — Orono residents will vote in four new town councilors, three school board members and decide on a marijuana establishments issue in this year’s upcoming municipal election on March 9. 

There are seven candidates vying for three seats on the council, each with a three-year term. Candidates are Ashley Case, Daniel LaPointe, Alyce Lew, Laura Mitchell, Geoffrey Wingard and Khawla Abu Sheikh Wise. Incumbent Cheryl Robertson is also running for re-election. 

Anastasia Stanek is running against current council chairperson Thomas Perry for a single two-year term, as well. 

Along with the council seats, four people are competing for three positions on the RSU 26 school board. Mark Brewer and Brian McGill are running for two open board seats with three-year terms.

Leo Kenney and Patrick Rowe are running for a single one-year term. 

Voters can review a biography of each candidate ahead of the election via the town’s website. 

In addition to the council and school board elections, residents will also decide whether to allow marijuana businesses in Orono. Businesses include retail stores and dispensaries, manufacturing and testing facilities as well as cultivation sites. 

The opt-in vote does not regulate personal use. The town has prepared ordinances to regulate how these businesses may operate within Orono according to land uses, and set up local licensing requirements. 

In-person voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.  in the council chambers at the town office. People can vote by absentee ballot but must return them by 8 p.m. March 9. The town will also hold in-person absentee voting from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 25, and Thursday, March 4. 

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.